Amazing, awesome, powerful, stretching, draining, energizing…this weekend was so amazing…beyond words.  I went to a conference with InterVarsity Christian Fellowship called Sanctuary.  It was all about prayer…wow.  I literally don’t even know where to begin.  The conference was held at camp FaHoLo…which I was pretty excited for from the start because I have a lot of memories from that camp…its where God became real to me and where I dedicated my life to him…its where I met Krystal…AND its where I first told God that there was no way I would ever be a missionary…He certainly changed things in a BIG way didn’t He?!  So I was excited from the get go.  When I said I wanted to go I wasn’t sure just what I was getting into.  I really didn’t even know what it was all about…other than that others said it was a great conference when they went.  I really didn’t even know it was all about prayer.  When I found out exactly what I was going to it was one of those “okay God, I get it” moments.  He’d been speaking to me about prayer the past couple weeks…telling me I need to pray more…having other people talk about the importance of prayer and how we all need to pray more.  I kind of laughed when I realized it was all about prayer…God is sure funny isn’t He?  Just when we think we have something…I had already realized he was saying I need to pray  more, how much more was there to get?…He says…”uh uh, you so do  not get it yet.” 


So we got there Friday evening and first session was at 7:30.  There were students from IV chapters from Wayne, Central, Michigan State, U of M at Dearborn, Oakland and Albion…it was so awesome getting to meet a bunch of others from different schools and seeing how God is working on their campuses!  The first session (titled “Prayer: Being with Jesus”) showed us how prayer was a regular practice of Christ…he withdrew on MANY occasions to spend alone time with God.  If prayer was necessary for Christ – the Messiah, the Holy One – how much more necessary is it for us?  After Jesus would withdraw and pray he always came back with new clarity/God’s call reaffirmed in His life and/or God’s love for him reaffirmed.  He came out of prayer times centered, solid and ready to minister!  So you think prayer might be pretty important for us??  I wish I had time right now to go into every session and just write…but I don’t.  I’ll tell you what the other sessions topics were though!  The second session was “Prayer: Becoming Like Christ,” the third was “Prayer: Asking Jesus to Work in the Lives of Others,” and the fourth was “Prayer: Coming to Jesus Together.”  I wish you could have all been there.  I really do.  Then saturday afternoon we had a choice of five seminars to go to and I went to one about going deeper in personal devotions.  I learned a lot.  I prayed a lot.  I grew a lot.  I cried a lot.  God dealt with some things in my life that needed dealing with.  It was simply amazing.  It was by far one of the best conferences I have ever been to.  Imagine…probably fifty or so college students praying for hours, worshiping God with all their hearts, seeking His face, interceding on behalf of their unsaved friends, growing, stretching…it was awesome.


I also got in a GREAT run through some mud with Carmen!  I had fun with that one!  We had to take our shoes in the shower with us afterward…and we painted with mud on our faces! hehe.  FaHoLo has changed since the last time I have been there for sure…but its still FaHoLo.  It was good to go back 🙂  I met a lot of awesome people!  Wow…I don’t know what else to say…I can’t describe everything…its impossible.  I should probably get going…get a little more government studying in before hitting the hay…besides…its getting pretty long 😉  Not that you all mind right?  I mean, this is good stuff!! hehe.  I love you all and am praying for you all…if you ever need me to pray for something specific for you…all you have to do is let me know!  Shucks…its gonna be posted as tomorrow because its five after midnight…ah well!  G’night everyone! ~ T

One thought on “

  1. Hi Teresa. Thanks for the comment. It sounds like you’re real busy. That’s a good thing. That prayer thing sounded good.  It will be interesting to see where the Lord takes you from here.  Take care. See Ya Later.

Leave a Reply

