I want to be like a tree

Planted by the stream

Of living water

I want to be like a tree

Planted by the stream

Of living water

 

I want to be unmoveable

Unshakeable

Let my roots go down deep

I want to be unmoveable

Unshakeable

In you

– Justin Rizzo (IHOP ministries)

 

I want my roots to go down deep into the Lord.  I want my upcoming marriage to be grounded so firmly in the Lord that we are unmoveable and unshakeable.  I want to be like a tree, constantly fed by that stream.  Too many times, like now, I don’t want to open myself up to soak it in, it seems like too much effort and work and I let it go by the wayside, but its not.  I think about it and no price is to great to pay to go deeper with the Lord…but I get lazy, and I let my roots stay shallow, because I’m afraid it will hurt to push deeper, I’ll have to move stuff out of the way to go deeper…stuff that takes effort to move.  Ever effort, however, is worth going just a smidgen further…every ounce of energy I have to put it is worth pushing down just a millimeter further.  The Lord is just that good.  I want my roots to go down deep…no matter what I have to do to get them there.

Leave a Reply

