Plastic bags, cleaning and skiing…

I went to the store today…just like I would every week to get groceries, but I forgot my reusable bags.  I was bummed because not only are plastic bags not so environmentally friendly, but I can carry more stuff in fewer bags if I bring my tote bags.  But today I had to use the plastic bags, and I am convinced that they get thinner and thinner by the week (I guess to be more environmentally friendly).  I couldn’t even put 4 boxed of cereal in the bag without it ripping, or carry a pork loin, and 2 frozen pizzas without the handles ripping from the weight.  If you didn’t think that was enough, I double bagged my 2 bottles of V8 splash, and the handles still ripped.  I was disappointed.  They don’t make ’em like they used to.  Note to self: remember your own bags next time!

I learned another thing this week – if you really want to keep your home clean, it really is a full-time job.  Seriously!  I don’t know how much time I spent cleaning…picking up cereal bowls left all over the apartment, glasses and spoons too.  Then there is the dirty clothes that seem to appear on the floor every time I pick them up.  Or what about the paper…I really hate paper.  I’ve asked the credit card company to discontinue sending me paper bills, but to no avail.  If not the paper, then the books, or the contact cases, or the shoes…the list goes on.  Every week the bathroom needs cleaning, the floors need to be vacuumed or scrubbed.  The dusting needs to be done, the bed sheets changed, and lets not forget the seemingly endless number of loads of laundry.  It’s tough work…but somebody’s got to do it!

I love this fall weather, but I really am ready for winter.  I have been itching to get out on the ski slopes.  I’m not a big fan of driving in the stuff, but the more snow, the better in my humble opinion.  I’m ready for ski season   Dan and I are saving what little money we have for lift tickets!  It was restaurant week in Detroit last week.  We considered going to one of the restaurants, because after all…when else are you going to get a three course meal at the city’s upscale restaurants for $27 a person?  Then we thought about it…after tax and tip we could buy 2 lift tickets…and so decided to save our money! 

These are my random thoughts of the day…I need to get back to cleaning before going in to work! 

2 thoughts on “Plastic bags, cleaning and skiing…

Leave a Reply

