Think Winter…

I realize there are a lot of winter haters out there…I’m just not one of them.  I legitimately love winter.  Not just for skiing.  Ever since I was a little girl I’ve loved winter…and I’ve loved snow.

Really...I do!

When I was younger I bought a button from an antique store…it was yellow, beat up and old but it said “think winter, help stamp out summer.”  I looked forward to winter and snow.

So in the spirit of steady movement forward in fitness and health I thought I’d give you a few ideas to beat those winter workout blahs so you can get moving and have fun.  Think like a kid…try: tobogganing (like we did down the hill in the back of our house growing up…yes…it was that big), ice skating, sledding, making snow forts (the were the best made out of the big piles dad plowed), try to make an igloo, have a snowball fight, build a family of snowmen, make snow angels or snow sculptures, play king of the mountain on a snow pile, go snowshoeing, or play fox & rabbit in the snow (this one is really great…find a fresh snow field that hasn’t been walked over run in a big circle and retrace your steps a few times around to make a big circular path…then cut the pie in half and run from one side to the other and then again to make quarters.  One person is it and you play tag…the catch is that you have to stay in the paths that you just created…no stepping out or cheating…its a great workout!).  Winter is simply the most wonderful time of the year 🙂 and a great time to get out and MOVE!

Learning to ski four years ago just made winter even sweeter!  It was the first date for the hubby and me.  The story goes that if I couldn’t learn to ski it was never going to work.

First date...first time skiing. So this is love...:-)

Thankfully I took to skiing pretty much like a fish to water…I simply loved it.  This season it has been a blessing that the hubby is working as a ski instructor – the ability to ski whenever we want and not worry about it breaking the bank has been fantastic!

Last year I added snowshoeing to my repertoire of winter skills.  I went snowshoeing for the first time at Tahquamenon Falls with my mom and sister.  It was gorgeous out and we had an absolute blast!

So…think like a kid…put the hate behind you and have FUN!!!  If you do you’ll be well on your way to a healthier, happier you 🙂

Leave a Reply

