Waste Less :-)

I made a “spring resolution” so to speak.  I realized the other day as I analyzed my spending habits that #1. I spend a lot of money on food and #2. I waste a lot of food…largely due to my laziness.  So I have decided that I need to be and want to be more intentional about how I spend on food and reducing my waste.  Believe me when I tell you that I throw out a LOT of food.  Not intentionally, but because I am too lazy to make the meals I intend to make and food goes to waste.  The average American throws away 14% of the food they purchase (or $600/year) (http://www.epa.gov/osw/conserve/materials/organics/food/fd-gener.htm)…and I think that is probably low.  Odd are we throw out more than that.  So I have determined to be more intentional about the way I eat and the way I spend on food.

I’m the person who will spend more at the grocery store to make sure I’m putting good fuel in my body, but I in my laziness and failure to plan ahead well I also spend more money than necessary on the healthier convenience foods, like Naked Smoothies…it gets pricey.  So I am working on planning ahead and being more conscious of my food choices.

Yesterday I threw together this yummy salad 🙂 with things I had on hand.

Ingredients: Green leaf lettuce, carrots, apple, small red beans (no salt added, drained and rinsed), sunflower seeds and lite poppy seed dressing 🙂

Today I made some apple bread – we love this stuff and I needed to use up some apples before they went bad (score for me not letting them go to waste!).  I also made some Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup – I have had this squash sitting on my counter for the past several weeks and I didn’t want it to go to waste either (as well as the carrots that have been sitting in the fridge for a bit too long).  It turned out great and I felt good that I wasn’t going to be throwing any of it out.

Steps I am taking to help me on my journey:

1. Cut up veggies when I get home from the grocery store and put them into individual containers to make them easy to eat.

2. Look at my schedule for the week and plan meals around when I am able to cook and prep different foods.

3. One week per month consider skipping groceries except for the necessities (like milk) and using things leftover on hand.

4. Choose to eat the foods that will spoil first over other options.

Hopefully as I resolve to be more intentional I’ll spend less and eat better 🙂

One thought on “Waste Less :-)

  1. Nice. I agree, it’s easy to stock up on stuff that I know I like and would enjoy eating…and then letting it go to waste due to bad planning. Sigh. Doing an inventory before going shopping has helped me a lot – e.g. if there’s apples on sale at Meijer, but I already have a full bag of oranges in the fridge, odds are I won’t eat both before they go bad.

Leave a Reply

