I took a mommy sick day

The inevitable happened.

I knew it would happen sooner or later.  I was hoping that it would be later.

Mommy got sick.  Not just a common cold sick – we went through that two weeks ago.  But a I-spent-all-night-in-the-bathroom sick.  I’ll spare you the details.

So I needed to take a sick day.  I am so thankful for my husband.  I know not everyone can take a mommy sick day…but I am thankful that I could.  After he went into work Monday morning he came home to my crying and desperate request an hour later.  When the little man woke up crying, ready for a diaper change and to eat I couldn’t even stand up straight to walk to his room.  His 18 pounds threatened to topple me over when I picked him up.

I don’t remember the last time I felt so sick.  I don’t remember the last time I lost all that I ate.  I do now.  Seriously though…this is the first time since we have been married that I threw up.  I don’t even think I did in college.  Maybe not in high school either.  I’d probably have to ask my mom if she remembers.  Hubby has exactly one time – on vacation, from something he ate at a restaurant.  Out it came, he was better.

I get colds (and the one two weeks ago was the first real cold in a year or more), but I don’t get sick like this.  I don’t even know what it was…GI bug? Food poisoning? Flu? And it had to happen the year I have a baby at home…a 5.5 month old to be specific.

Good thing I was working ahead on this blog and scheduled the last two posts to publish 😉

Hubby took amazing care of me – and made it to the store 3 times in 36 hours to get stuff.  Gatorade.  Crackers. Bananas. Bread. Chicken.  I could hardly get out of bed on Monday.  My body ached – over the night of awfulness I felt like I was having a labor contraction…but worse.  And I can say that now since I have been in labor.  It was like a 20 minute solid super-contraction.  My lower back ached all day.  We slathered icy hot over the whole thing.

I didn’t eat much outside of a dozen saltines and half a Gatorade for 36 hours.  I was at pre-pregnancy weight before…now I’m below…a momentary silver lining I guess 😉

All that to say.  I am so thankful for the support group I have.  I felt all the prayers of those around me.  The students I work with, my family, the women from my mom2mom group, church family, friends and my hubby.

Brag moment: my hubby stands next to me, lays his hands on me and prays for me every morning before he goes to work.  I usually sleep through it, but sometimes I am awake though he might not realize it.  I cherish and appreciate my husband more than I can express.

I have felt God’s faithfulness these past few days.  Hubby went back to work on Tuesday and it took every last ounce of energy I had to take care of my son…but God was faithful to provide that energy.  So far hubby and baby seem to be faring fine.  I’m hopeful they won’t experience anything that I did.  This morning was hard…baby took an hour and a half nap and I was able to sleep for a large portion of it.  I’m still struggling with a general lack of energy – likely due to the fact that I am still not eating a lot and am careful about what I have been eating – and a feeling of not being fully well – there is some lingering nausea here and there, but He is faithful and I am definitely on the mend.

If only the “mommies don’t get sick” saying was wrong 😉

Leave a Reply

