The wonders He has done

Psalm 78:4,6-7 “We will not hide them from their children; we will tell the next generation the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord, his power and the wonders he has done…so the next generation would know them, even the children yet to be born, and they in turn would tell their children.  Then they would put their trust in God and would not forget his deeds but would keep his commands.”

I want my son to know the wonders that God has done.  I need my son to know the wonders that God has done.

The rest of the Psalm goes back and forth telling of God’s great wonders toward His people, their rebellion, His wrath, His mercy, their turning back.  These aren’t just minor wonders either – they are major things: he divided the sea and led them through, he split rocks in the desert to give water, etc.

I need to let my son know what God has done.  Oh he will know what God has done through Jesus.  He will know the gospel.  But he needs to hear stories of God’s faithfulness and greatness in my life from the small to the big.  Things like:

– Sparing my life…when I almost died of carbon monoxide poisoning…in Argentina

– Providing the right doctor to deliver him when homebirth plans went south due to his stubborn breech position

– Providing just enough financial support for me to stay on staff with InterVarsity the past five years

– Sparing my dad’s life when he was run over by a farm tractor

– Sparing my father-in-law’s life when he experienced a heart attack while skiing…when in to the hospital much later (something like a day and a half)…and proceeded to have quad bypass surgery

– Providing for my hubby and I when he graduated in the year with the worst unemployment stats our generation has seen and it took him two years to find an engineering job

– Allowing us the privilege of purchasing a home that we love close to recreational opportunities

– Giving us AMAZING families that we are blessed to be a part of

– Allowing us to connect with and serve in a FANTASTIC church with a church family that has blessed us in so many tangible and intangible ways.

I could keep going on listing different ways God has displayed his greatness in our lives.  Not only does my son need to hear the stories behind these, but I need to remember what God has done…that I would not forget his deeds but would keep his commands.

I have a suspicion that the call to tell the next generation is as much for us as it is for them.  What are the wonders God has done in your life?

Leave a Reply

