Recipe: ___ Chip Chocolate Cookies

It’s softball season…

…that means cookie season!

Every week since Dan and I have been married I have made cookies for his softball team in the summer.  It’s a win-win-win situation.  They like it, I get to eat a couple cookies without eating the whole batch, and I get to use them as guinea pigs to test out new recipes.  And usually…my cookies are in no way, shape or form, good for you…that is my disclaimer.  That’s why I like giving them away 😉

This week wasn’t a new recipe…but an old one with a twist.  I had bought some dark chocolate and mint chocolate chips on clearance after Christmas since they were the “winter” seasonal kind.  I normally make these cookies with peanut butter chips, but when I bought the mint ones this recipe popped into mind instantly and I knew I had to make the substitution.  So here it is…they kind of taste like mint chocolate chip ice cream…without the cream =]

Mint (or PB) Chip Chocolate Cookies:

1 cup margarine or butter (I use butter), softened

1.5 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 cup flour

2/3 cup cocoa

3/4 tsp soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 cup (or 1 bag) mint/pb/other chips

Oven to 350 degrees.  Cream butter with sugar.  Add the eggs and vanilla and mix well.  Add the dry ingredients (I never sift ingredients together…for any recipe…maybe that is bad, but I don’t).  Add the chips.  Drop onto a cookie sheet in whatever size you would like and bake 8-10 minutes.  Super easy.  I made them while talking on the phone with my sister.

10341897_10101201936855958_4186377094248482042_n

I always put them on a paper bag I have cut open to help absorb the grease…for all my cookies.  Let ’em cool and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

