Recipe: Nutella & Sea Salt Stuffed Sugar Cookies

Some time ago I stumbled upon this recipe for Nutella & Sea Salt Stuffed Sugar cookies on pinterest and a few links and clicks led me to Cookin Canuck’s site.  I consider myself somewhat of a cookie snob – I love to bake and grew up baking and have my favorites.  Let me tell y’all this is probably my absolute favorite cookie.  I have made it probably more times than any cookie now except no-bakes, because those are just so doggone easy, fast and require no oven on a hot day.  Over the many times I have made these I found ways to simplify the original process of making them to get them to my belly even quicker 🙂  So without further ado…enjoy!

Nutella & Sea Salt Stuffed Sugar Cookies:

Ingredients:

Jar of Nutella (not a whole jar…but at least a half cup left in the bottom!)

2.5 cups all purpose flour (I use King Arthur Unbleached White Whole Wheat flour in all of my baking)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1.5 cups plus 1/3 cup granulated sugar, divided (I always use cane sugar as beet sugar is genetically modified)

14 tbsp (1.75 sticks) butter, softened

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla (confession: I never measure vanilla, I just dump)

1 tbsp sea salt

Instructions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grab a spoon and scoop Nutella into 1 teaspoon-ish mounds.  Drop them onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  You’ll need 3 dozen Nutella mounds.  I usually get 34-36 cookies so if you have a couple mounds left over you can just feel free to eat them!  Pop the cookie sheet into the freezer while you make the sugar cookie dough.

nutella1

2. Beat butter and 1.5 cups of sugar with electric mixer on medium until the mixture is creamy and fluffy…at least 3 minutes.  Trust me…put it on medium and let it go for the full time…up to 4 or 5 minutes.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.  The original recipe says one at a time…I just pull ’em out of the fridge, crack them both open and drop them in with the vanilla…beating it all together at once.

3. Add flour, baking powder and salt (I never sift mine together before) and mix until just combined.

Now comes the fun part:

4. Place a dusting of flour on your countertop since the dough will be slightly sticky.  Roll balls somewhere about the size of a ping pong ball but smaller than a golf ball (two tablespoon-ish size probably).  As you roll each ball, make a nice big indent with your thumb in each one before setting them on your counter.  Make about 3 dozen of these (use up all the dough).

nutella2

5. Grab the Nutella mounds out of the freezer and quickly drop one mound into each indent.  See how fast you can do it, because they will start to thaw quite quickly and will get messier as you get to the last few!  Next take your sea salt and sprinkle a little bit on top of each Nutella mound.

6. Now pinch the sides of the indent over the Nutella mound, rolling the dough in your hands to seal up the Nutella inside the dough.  Roll each ball (they will probably be golf ball size-ish now) in the remaining 1/3 cup of sugar and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

7. Bake until the edges are set 10-13 minutes…in my oven 11 seems to be about perfect.  I pull them out just as the edges show a tiny hint of brown…I don’t like them to actually brown.  I pull the cookies off to cool on a cut up paper grocery bag…it helps soak up excess grease.  I rarely use a wire rack for cooling.

nutella3

8. EAT THEM!

Leave a Reply

